Flipside Movie Emporium Forum Index Flipside Movie Emporium
Discussion Forums Locked & Archived for Browsing

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Comic book movies

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.    Flipside Movie Emporium Forum -> Movie Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
matt header
Studio Exec

PostPosted: 07.02.2004 8:20 pm    Post subject: Comic book movies Reply with quote

So you may have heard of a relatively obscure indie film called Spiderman 2, which came out recently, and which I saw last night. I thought it slightly superior to first film, and perhaps even in the pantheon of great comic-book to movie adaptations. Although I'm not an expert on comic books or graphic novels, I thoroughly enjoy them, especially their rather cinematic potential to utilize the shape and size of frames and unrealistic imagery to create atmosphere. Comic book purists may object to adaptations like The Punisher and Spawn (rightfully so), but the art forms turn out to be very complimentary to each other, since both are so fundamentally visual in their storytelling. Tim Burton's Batman Returns remains one of the most astonishing comic book adaptations, maintaining a level of absurd dread and gothic melodrama that the original comics were celebrated for portraying. X2 was a comic book adaptation told with intelligence, style, vibrancy, and adoration, and Sam Raimi's own Darkman is a superb example of comics' vibrant colors and manic pace translated into film languge. And The Hulk attempted a very exact correlation with its digitized, freeze-framed, animated panels during cuts to stress the movie's comic book origins.